About the Foundation

Founded in 2006, the Northeastern Illinois Public Safety Training Academy Foundation is an Illinois non-for-profit corporation that is organized and operated exclusively for charitable and educational purposes. The Foundation enjoys tax-exempt status pursuant of Section 501(c)(3) of the federal Internal Revenue Code.

The Foundation solicits and receives public and private donations, gifts, grants, memorials and bequests of money, property and services that support training of fire, police, public works and private business professional at the Northeastern Illinois Public Safety Training Academy (NIPSTA).

The Foundation supports

  • Development of public safety curricula 

  • Design and implemental of training props 

  • Expansion of NIPSTA facilities, programs and services 

  • Enhancement of regional emergency preparedness and response 

  • Improvements in community safety that results from well trained first responders

All contributions to the NIPSTA Foundation are tax deductible to the extent permitted by law.

The NIPSTA Foundation is governed by a Board of Directors:

PresidentJames Arie, Retired Fire Chief
Vice President:John Escalante, Elmhurst University
Treasurer:Dan Ryan, Illinois Public Pension Fund Association
Secretary:Jill Ramaker, NIPSTA 
Director:Joe DeLopez, Village of Winnetka, Ret.
Director:Daniel Dahlberg, Henry Crown and Company